“I Know a Secret”

“I Know a Secret” by Tess Gerritsen is book twelve in the Rizzoli & Isles series. It is not necessary to have read the previous books to enjoy this one; new readers can jump right in without any problem. Contextual references throughout the book fill in relevant background without wasting pages rehashing old events. This is […]

Read More “I Know a Secret”

“Blood Truth”

 “Blood Truth” by Matt Coyle is part of the Rick Cahill series, but it is not necessary to have read the previous books to absolutely love this one.  Any background information a new reader might need is included as part of the narrative without spending pages and pages unnecessarily rehashing the previous books. Rick Cahill […]

Read More “Blood Truth”

“Rusty Puppy”

“Rusty Puppy” by Joe Lansdale features our two favorite malcontents Hap Collins and Leonard Pine. “Rusty Puppy” is about East Texas, and the good, the bad, and the in between who live there. They are plagued by murder, police corruption, blackmail, conspiracies, dog fighting, and assorted other crimes, as Hap describes them, “An East Texas classic. […]

Read More “Rusty Puppy”

Emma in the Night

“Emma in the Night” by Wendy Walker is a suspenseful thriller about two sisters, Emma and Cassandra who just disappear one day. No one knows where they have gone or why, not even the FBI. Three years later, Cass just shows up at her mother’s house, unannounced and by herself, no Emma. Where has she […]

Read More Emma in the Night

Path into Darkness”

“Path Into Darkness” by Lisa Alber is part of  the “County Clare”  series. While it is not necessary to have read the previous books to enjoy this one, reading previous books makes it easier understand the characters and situations.  Detective Danny Ahern and his colleagues are investigating the murder of Elder Joe, a man with […]

Read More Path into Darkness”


“Blackmail” is the fourth book in Rick Campbell’s series of contemporary military thrillers. It is not necessary to have read the other books in the series, but readers who enjoy “Blackmail” will certainly want to read the previous books. A Russian submarine encounters an American warship in the Pacific, and attacks. “We aren’t at war […]

Read More “Blackmail”

“Baking Powder Wars”

“Baking Powder Wars” by Linda Civitello should be on the “must read” list of every foodie. I am not a “foodie” but since I know some, I was intrigued by the title. I had no idea that baking powder played such an important, even pivotal, role in what we eat, cook, and do. This book […]

Read More “Baking Powder Wars”

“The Girls in the Water.”

“The Girls in the Water” by Victoria Jenkins is the first in the Detectives King and Lane series. One cold morning, the detectives are called to the park when a young woman’s body washes up on the riverbank.  And then, another body is found in similar circumstances. The progresses at a rather slow but steady […]

Read More “The Girls in the Water.”

“Dressed to Confess”

“Dressed to Confess” is the latest installment in Diane Vallere’s Costume Shop Mysteries series. It is NOT necessary to have read the other books before enjoying this one. There are quick summaries of events from previous books embedded when needed to advance the plot, but pages and pages are not wasted summarizing what happened previously. […]

Read More “Dressed to Confess”

“Hoodoo Harry”

“Hoodoo Harry” is the latest in Joe R. Lansdale’s entertaining stories that feature Hap Collins and Leonard Pine, two friends from “rural” Texas. If you are new to this series, be advised that Hap and Leonard are, as always, rude, crude, and very funny, although this is one of the more “tame” accounts.  The story […]

Read More “Hoodoo Harry”